Select Page

Spring 2019 Courses Unavailable

Due to recent work on the Blackboard server, all spring 2019 courses were made unavailable. If the course was available prior to Monday evening, your course was impacted by the work. Professors will need to make their courses available to students again. Here is a link showing two different methods for making the course available: https://blog.richmond.edu/blackboard/2018/08/23/course-unavailable-to-students-message/

We regret the unintended consequences of the needed work and assure you that no additional work will be required on the system which will negatively impact the availability of your courses.

If you have any questions, please contact Blackboard support at blackboard@richmond.edu or by calling 287-6860.

Thank you,

Center for Teaching, Learning and Technology

Email Messages from Blackboard

If you receive an email message from bbannounce@richmond.edu, DO NOT reply. This is a non-monitored email address. Please email your professor directly if the email comes from a course announcement.

Students showing in dropped courses

We are aware of students being in Blackboard courses that they have either dropped or not registered for and are attempting to address the issue. Please let us know if you are impacted by this at blackboard@richmond.edu and it is not addressed by the end of the day.

Thank you!

Course Unavailable to Students Message

If you are seeing the message “Course Unavailable to Students” you can make the course available using the Qwickly module or by going into the course Control Panel -> Customization -> Properties and then make the course available.

Since all courses are being created without requests and some professors do not use Blackboard. Thus, all courses are created as Unavailable so professors can make the decision when to make the course available to students.

Faculty Blackboard Updates

As you begin the Fall 2018 semester, here are some important updates to Blackboard we’d like to share with you.

Automatic Course Creation

All courses will now be created in Blackboard automatically. There is no longer a course request system. Your courses will be displayed in the “My Courses” area on the page after the login screen. All created courses are set to unavailable and must be turned on by the instructor when ready. You can do this using the Qwickly module (http://goqwickly.com/demos/)  on the home screen of Blackboard or by going into the course and going to Customization -> Properties -> Availability.

Merging Courses

Since all courses are being automatically created, there is a new way to merge your courses within the Blackboard platform. This creates a “parent/child” relationship where you maintain one course for working with the students. The student will see the course in which they are enrolled as the title of the course but will be directed to the parent course. More information on merging courses can be found here: http://bit.ly/2OAj2eJ

Organize your course list by term

To help you manage all the courses (past, present and future), it is recommended that you turn on “Group by term” in the “My Courses” area. To turn this on, hover over the “My Courses” title bar and click on the gear icon to the right of the title. On the next screen, click on “Group by term”. Once this is on, you can rearrange the terms, select which ones are visible to you, select which ones to expand when first logging on, etc. Step-by-step instructions can be found here: http://bit.ly/2n2CcgI

Viewing student photos after Course Copy

If you copy a previous course into your new course, don’t forget to dismiss the completed notification so that student photos will appear under Tools -> Student Photos. More information can be found here: http://bit.ly/2LV5ZX0v

Students no longer removed from Blackboard courses

Beginning with Summer 2018, students will not be removed from courses until they graduate from the University. This means that if you do not wish for students to have access to your course after the end of the semester, you will need to make the course unavailable. You can do this using the Qwickly module (http://goqwickly.com/demos/)  on the home screen of Blackboard or by going into the course and going to Customization -> Properties -> Availability.

We hope you have a successful semester and if we can assist in anyway please contact blackboard@richmond.edu or call 287-6860. For additional assistance please visit https://blog.richmond.edu/blackboard.

Thank you,

New Course Merge Tool

 Information about merging and unmerging your Blackboard Courses.

Why Use It

Instructors may use the Course Merge Tool when they want to merge enrollments of two sections of the same course (same department and catalog number) or merging different types of courses (two different departments and catalog numbers).

Some instructors would rather manage class enrollments and content in a single Blackboard course rather than separate courses.

The Course Merge Tool copies the student enrollments from one or more “Child” Courses into a “Parent” Course.

After merging the courses, students will see the content from the Parent Course. Students will see the course name as the course they actually enrolled in. All student enrollments from the Child Courses will be added to the Parent Course.

What it Doesn’t Do

The Course Merge Tool does not copy any content from the Child Courses to the Parent Course.

Note: If you want to copy content from any of the Child Courses to the Parent Course you should do this prior to using the Course Merge Tool. After merging all content should be added to the Parent Course only.

Important!

In order to merge courses, the instructor must be enrolled in the Child and Parent Blackboard courses as “Instructor”.

The Child and Parent Blackboard courses must be listed in the same term in the Schedule of Classes.

The Child Courses will be made unavailable and instructors must not make the Child Courses available in the future.

Unmerging

If you need to unmerge your Blackboard courses you will need to contact Blackboard Support by calling 804-287-6860 or email blackboard@richmond.edu. A Blackboard Support staff person will contact you to coordinate unmerging your Blackboard courses.

How To Merge Blackboard Courses

To merge two or more Blackboard courses follow these steps:

First determine the Parent Course. This is the course where all your content must currently reside.

Open the Parent Course in Blackboard.

In the Control Panel, click on the down arrowhead next to Course Tools (lower left); you will see a list of tools an instructor may use (these tools are not visible to students)

Click on the Course Merge tool and the Course Merge application will start.

The first screen will show you the Parent Course (the course you are currently logged into).

Click on the link to select the Child Courses you want to merge into the Parent Course.

On the Select Child Courses page, check the box for one or more Child Courses.

You should only see courses of the same term where you are enrolled as “Instructor”. The Parent Course should not be in the list of Child Courses you can select.

Click on the Confirm Merge Choices button.

On the confirmation page, read over carefully which course will be the Parent and which course(s) will be the Child(ren).

Click on the Perform Merge Courses button.

You should next see the Course Merge success page.

Need Help?

If you encounter any problems with using the Course Merge tool please contact UR’s Blackboard support team at 804-287-6860 or email Blackboard@richmond.edu. More help information can be read by clicking on the Help Documentation button at the top of this page.

css.php