Syllabus

Note: This syllabus is subject to amendment during the semester. 

*Acquisition By Find*

Class 1 — Tues., January 14, 2020

  • Armory v. Delamirie; Bridges v. Hawkesworth (OSP 3-9)

Class 2 — Thurs., January 16, 2020

Class 3 — Tues., January 21, 2020

  • Hannah v. Peel; McAvoy v. Medina (OSP 19-36)
  • Assign Writing Assignment (Judicial Decision)

*Adverse Possession*

Class 4 — Thurs., January 23, 2020

INTRODUCTION; THEORY; ELEMENTS

  • Review Writing Assignment
  • Tieu v Morgan (OSP 37-54)

Class 5 — Tues., January 28, 2020

ELEMENTS (CONT’D); HOSTILITY

*System of Estates*

Class 6 — Thurs., January 30, 2020

INTRODUCTION; PRESENT, POSSESSORY ESTATES

Class 7 — Tues., February 4, 2020

FUTURE INTERESTS IN THIRD PARTIES; construing ambiguous grants

  • Review Writing Assignment
  • L&M 21-42; 62-92 (Future Interests in Grantee part of Chapter 2, Summary of Remainders part of Chapter 3, and Chapter 4)
  • In the Estate of Dalton Edward Craigen (OSP 85-91)

Class  8 — Thurs., February 6, 2020

doctrine OF WASTE

  • QUIZ DUE
  • Jackson v. Brownson (OSP 91-100)
  • Assign Writing Assignment (Draft Conveyance)

*Concurrent Interests*

Class  9 — Tues., February 11, 2020

INTRODUCTION; TENANTS IN COMMON; ouster

  • Discuss Writing Assignment
  • U.S. v. CraftMartin v. Martin (OSP 101-121)

Class 10 — Thurs., February 13, 2020

PARTITION; joint tenancy

*Landlord and Tenant*

Class 11 — Tues., February 18, 2020

TERM OF YEARS; PERIODIC TENANCY; TENANCY AT WILL; TENANCY AT SUFFERANCE; delivery of possession

Class 12 — Thurs., February 20, 2020

tenant selection; subleases and assignments

Class  13 — Tues., February 25, 2020

duty to mitigate; eviction

Class  14 — Thurs., February 27, 2020

LANDLORD’S DUTIES/TENANT’S RIGHTS

*Land Transaction* 

Class  15 — Tues., March 3, 2020

introduction; deed

Class  16 — Thurs., March 5, 2020

deed (cont’d); warranty

  • Review Writing Assignment
  • Walters v. Tucker; Loughran v. Kummer; McMurray v. Housworth (OSP 279-296)

* SPRING BREAK — March 9-13*

Class  17– Tues., March 17, 2020

disclosures

*Mortgages*

Class 18 — Thurs., March 19, 2020

introduction; predatory lending

 Class 19 — Tues., March 24, 2020

MORTGAGE CRISIS; foreclosure abuses

  • QUIZ DUE
  • Klem v. Washington Mutual Bank; U.S. Bank Nat’l Assoc. v. Ibanez (OSP 346-404)

Class * — *WILDCARD* — Thurs., March 26, 2020

*Servitudes*

Class 20 — Tues., March 31, 2020

CREATION OF EASEMENTS

  • Thomas v. Primus (OSP 406-422)

Class  21 — Thurs., April 2, 2020

CREATION OF EASEMENTS (CONT’D)

  • QUIZ DUE
  • Felgenhauer v. Soni; Richardson v. Franc (OSP 422-436)

Class  22 — Tues., April 7, 2020

SCOPE OF EASEMENTS; termination of easements; Negative easements

Class 23 — Thurs., April 9, 2020

CREATION OF COVENANTS

Class 24 — Tues., April 14, 2020

CREATION OF COVENANTS (CONT’D); termination of convenants

Class 25 — Thurs., April 16, 2020

Common interest communities

Class 26 — Tues., April 21, 2020

enforcement of common interest communities

  • QUIZ DUE
  • 40 West 67th Street v. Pullman (OSP 518-529)
  • Assign Writing Assignment (Essay Question)

Class 27 — Thurs., April 23, 2020

  • *Review*
  • Review Writing Assignment (Sample Answer)