Syllabus

Note: This syllabus is subject to amendment during the semester. 

*Acquisition By Find*

Class 1 — Wed., January 17, 2018

Class 2 — Mon., January 22, 2018

Class 3 — Wed., January 24, 2018   **8:00 a.m. start time**

  • McAvoy v. Medina (OSP 8-12)
  • Assign Writing Assignment ()

*Adverse Possession*

Class 4 — Mon., January 29, 2018

INTRODUCTION; THEORY; ELEMENTS

  • Review Writing Assignment ()
  • Tieu v Morgan (OSP 13-27)

Class 5 — Wed., January 31, 2018

ELEMENTS (CONT’D); HOSTILITY

*System of Estates*

Class 6 — Mon., February 5, 2018

INTRODUCTION; PRESENT, POSSESSORY ESTATES

Class 7 — Wed., February 7, 2018

FUTURE INTERESTS IN THIRD PARTIES; construing ambiguous grants

  • Review Writing Assignment ()
  • L&M 21-42; 62-92 (Future Interests in Grantee part of Chapter 2, Summary of Remainders part of Chapter 3, and Chapter 4)
  • In the Estate of Dalton Edward Craigen (OSP 51-57)

Class  8 — Mon., February 12, 2018

doctrine OF WASTE

  • QUIZ DUE
  • Jackson v. Brownson (OSP 58-65)
  • Assign Writing Assignment ()

*Concurrent Interests*

Class  9 — Wed., February 14, 2018

INTRODUCTION; TENANTS IN COMMON; ouster

  • Discuss Writing Assignment ()
  • U.S. v. CraftMartin v. Martin (OSP 66-82)

Class 10 — Mon., February 19, 2018

PARTITION; joint tenancy

*Landlord and Tenant*

Class 11 — Wed., February 21, 2018

TERM OF YEARS; PERIODIC TENANCY; TENANCY AT WILL; TENANCY AT SUFFERANCE; delivery of possession

Class 12 — Mon., February 26, 2018

tenant selection; subleases and assignments

Class  13 — Wed., February 28, 2018

duty to mitigate; eviction

Class  14 — Mon., March 5, 2018

LANDLORD’S DUTIES/TENANT’S RIGHTS

*Land Transaction* 

Class  15 — Wed., March 7, 2018

introduction; deed

* SPRING BREAK — March 12-16*

Class  16 — Mon., March 19, 2018

deed (cont’d); warranty

  • Review Writing Assignment ()
  • Loughran v. Kummer; McMurray v. Housworth (OSP 214-224)

Class  17– Wed., March 21, 2018

disclosures

*Mortgages*

Class 18 — Mon., March 26, 2018

introduction; predatory lending

 Class 19 — Wed., March 28, 2018

MORTGAGE CRISIS; foreclosure abuses

  • QUIZ DUE
  • Klem v. Washington Mutual Bank; U.S. Bank Nat’l Assoc. v. Ibanez (OSP 266-311)

*Servitudes*

Class 20 — Mon., April 2, 2018

CREATION OF EASEMENTS

  • Thomas v. Primus (OSP 313-325)

Class  21 — Wed., April 4, 2018 ***VIRTUAL CLASS***

CREATION OF EASEMENTS (CONT’D)

  • QUIZ DUE
  • Felgenhauer v. Soni; Richardson v. Franc (OSP 326-337)

Class  22 — Mon., April 9, 2018

SCOPE OF EASEMENTS; termination of easements; Negative easements

Class 23 — Wed., April 11, 2018

CREATION OF COVENANTS

Class 24 — Mon., April 16, 2018

CREATION OF COVENANTS (CONT’D); termination of convenants

Class 25 — Wed., April 18, 2018

Common interest communities

Class 26 — Mon., April 23, 2018

enforcement of common interest communities

  • QUIZ DUE
  • 40 West 67th Street v. Pullman (OSP 404-413)
  • Assign Writing Assignment ()

Class 27 — Wed., April 25, 2018

  • *Review*
  • Review Writing Assignment ()